Devil's advocate

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

gparker

Devil's advocate

Post by gparker »

Ok, with tongue in cheek, hoping to hear some legitimate boasting and really honest answers, I ask "why buy a 170 when I can get a bonanza or a 172 for less money, etc? What's so great about a 170? " (I know why I bought mine, I just want to hear other's opinions.)

Greg
1956 170B N3457D
SN 27000
Denham Springs, LA
Bruce Fenstermacher

Re: Devil's advocate

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

OK that is easy.

With apologies to my friends here who might be a doctor. I don't have a Bonanza because I'm not a doctor.

With apologies to my friends here who own a 172. Who the heck would want a run of the mill 172? At least most of those here that do have a 172 at the least have the straight tail and some have even tried to blend in more by removing the training wheel.

I'll think of more later.
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!

Bruce Fenstermacher, Past President, TIC170A
Email: brucefenster at gmail.com
Robert Eilers

Post by Robert Eilers »

Off the subject maybe, but the title of gparker's Post got remembering past events. I believe I actually met the Devil's Advocate - late one night in a bad part of town. He was riding a flathead Harley - his friends called him "Ralph".
"You have to learn how to fall before you learn how to fly"
hilltop170

Post by hilltop170 »

1. You can buy a horse pretty cheap sometimes but the cost of feeding and keeping it can really add up.

2. Do you want skis or floats?

3. Do you intend to make rough field or off-field landings?

4. Uncommanded Dutch rolls make me queasy.

5. Gear-up landings are no fun, neither are nose wheels.

6. Do the tails still fall off?
Last edited by hilltop170 on Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:47 am, edited 2 times in total.
Richard Pulley
2014-2016 TIC170A Past President
1951 170A, N1715D, s/n 20158, O-300D
Owned from 1973 to 1984.