Vent Tubes

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

ryan602

Vent Tubes

Post by ryan602 »

I am new to this 170 thing but am enjoying it so far. I bought the ventubes for cabin air. When I started installing them I found what would appear to be a radiator hose in the left wing instead of the aluminum tube that is supposed to be there. The only parts book I have was downloaded from microtools, and I can't make out what parts I need to order. I have a '48 170.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ryan
4583C

Post by 4583C »

Ryan
Welcome to the board. I looked thru all the wing pages and couldn't find what I think you are looking for either. Finally found it in Figure 56 if you can find that in what you have. There is an elbow in each wing (0413233 ) which attaches to the tube the vent slides into (0413163-8 LH and 0413163-9 RH) Hope this helps. Paul
n2582d

Vent tube housing

Post by n2582d »

Ryan,
The fig. 56 Paul mentions is in the 170B parts manual. In looking at the 170 parts manual, (fig. 15, pg. 28) and the 170A parts manual, (fig. 17, pg. 28) the straight "tube assy." that the vent slides in is the same p/n as for the 170B. http://www.Iwantcessnaparts.com say the tube assy. is also used on the C-152, 172, 182 and 200 series Cessnas.

I'm on a layover in Minneapolis now so just returned from a parts scrounging run at Wentworth for my 170B project. They had a whole box full of those vent assemblies there. The guy I talked to said they go for $35-40. http://www.wentworthaircraft.com/ I'm sure any other salvage yard would have them as well.

The 170 parts manual listed the elbow, or what they call the "scoop assy - cabin ventilator" as p/n 0413234. Fig. 4-22 on pg. 8 doesn't show it very clearly but it is the same p/n in the right wing. See fig. 8-20 for a slightly better picture. Any of you others with straight 170s know if this elbow is the same as the elbow, p/n 0413233, in later models?
Gary