Ratings Held

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Harold Holiman

Ratings Held

Post by Harold Holiman »

Along the same line of thought as the "First Plane Ride" thread, I thought it would be interesting to see what certificates and ratings 170 Club pilots hold. Personally I am unable to pass a Medical at this time so I am only eligible to exercise Light Sport Pilot flying privileges. I have a Commercial, Single and Multi Engine Land, Single Engine Sea, Instrument Airplane, and a number of years ago I was a Certified Flight Instructor. My wife has a Private, Single Engine Land, but is also unable to pass a Medical at this time. The type of flying I enjoy most is single engine, day, VFR, in a conventional gear airplane. I hope to someday be able to get my Medical back but who knows. Flying has always been a part of our marriage, as Carolyn and I actually met at the airport way back when I had a brand new Private Certificate. What certificates and ratings do ya'll have?

Harold
bsdunek

Post by bsdunek »

Due to illnesses and deaths in the family, including my wife, I have been out of flying for 12 years. At 67, my new wife encourged me to get back in the game. On the last day of march my instructor signed me off, so I have my private.
Private is all I ever had. Maintaining an IFR is too costly for me, unless it is used for business.
I too, most enjoy VFR, lo-n-slo. Not to say I haven't traveled with the 170; it's been all over North America, including northern Canada and Alaska, as far as the Artic Ocean.
I wish they had made the Sport Pilot rating a little more useful. At least be able to fly the 170/Skyhawk or Cherokee class aircraft. As it is now, it's mostly a fly-in and hamburger lunch kind of rating. 8)
Bruce
1950 170A N5559C
3958v

Post by 3958v »