Newbie Shopping

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

BenWlson

Newbie Shopping

Post by BenWlson »

I'm a relatively new pilot (approx. 200 hours in a PA-22), and I am currently shopping for a Cessna 170 (any model). It seems to be the most practical and affordable 4-place tail-dragger (Can't get parts for the engine in a Stinson Voyager and a Piper Pacer is not for new taildragger pilots). I had the priviledge of flying a 180 Skywagon last weekend, and I fell in love, but the 170 is much closer to my budget. I'm hoping to find a polished bird (or one in need of polishing) in good working condition. It doesn't have to look good, though, I can work on aesthetics. From the recent ads in Trade-a-Plane and other places, it seems the typical asking price for what I'm looking for is around $37-39k. What have these airplanes really been selling for recently? This will be my first airplane purchase, and I was hoping to find something closer to $30k. Thanks for any input!
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Why Ben we Cessna people think the PA 20 or 22/20 is a perfect plane to wreck eerrr I mean train in. :D :D

Really I wanted a PA-22/20 but came to some of the same conclusions you probably have. If I where to build a bush type plane it would be something like the Pacer/Bear Hawk.

Keep your eyes peeled you may find something worth buying for $30K. It could happen but probably not. Most likely if it does you'll spend another $7k fixing stuff.

Good luck. Enjoy the search and don't get to antsy and buy the first thing that looks like a 170.
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!

Bruce Fenstermacher, Past President, TIC170A
Email: brucefenster at gmail.com
futr_alaskaflyer

Post by futr_alaskaflyer »