Fuel Tank Vent/Water Contamination

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Robert Eilers

Fuel Tank Vent/Water Contamination

Post by Robert Eilers »

I fly an IFR C170B. I am also new to the C170B - which I am learning to love. Following a flight in heavy rain the other day, while wiping the airplane down, I got a good look at the overhead fuel vent between the tanks on the top of the cockpit. The way the vent is shaped it causes me wonder if the vent might not contribute to water contamination in the fuel during prolonged flight in heavy rain. Anyone heard of or exxperienced water contamination as a result of the overhead vent?

Thanks
GAHorn

Post by GAHorn »

Hi, Robert!
You are more likely to experience more water in the tanks from common humidity in the air which replaces the fuel you consume.
As you burn fuel down, the air which vents into the tanks is chilled by the fuel which is evaporating in there. As you climb the temp drops and water vapor will condense. As you descend, it will even coalesce onto the fuel tank inner-walls and run down into the fuel. That's the major source of water in your fuel sampler cup during your preflight.
The amount of water captured by the vent "gooseneck" from flying in rain is miniscule compared to what occurs naturally due to condensation and from what enters at the fuel caps while sitting in the rain and when washing the airplane. (And in any case,...that's what your gascolator is for,...to capture any water on it's way to the carburetor so you can drain it out at the next preflight.) :wink:
(I have flown my airplane in long, cross-country downpours, (notably after the Wilmington convention on the way down thru the Carolinas and Georgia and Alabama, where we flew in virtually constant moderate and heavy rain for over 10 hours) and found no more water in the fuel than I do normally in dry Texas.)
'53 B-model N146YS SN:25713