Questions from a new pilot

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

islandaviator

Questions from a new pilot

Post by islandaviator »

Helo all,
I just completed my training for my private license, and am looking for a plane to buy for my family. I am in love with the c-170's, but i have no tailwheel time orexperience. Would you guyd recommend a new pilot to buy a tailwheel aircraft? My instucter is tailwheel endorsed so i have no issue with instruction. I plan to fly my family (wife 2 kids) on cross country.s and so forth. Is this the plane for me? Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
"I have nipples Greg...could you milk me?"- Robert Deniro
doug8082a

Post by doug8082a »

I don't think you'd have a problem. I got my ticket in 1999 and had 110 hrs TT when I got my TW signoff anf promptly bought the 170. Get a good instructor, practice/practice/practice (and then practice some more), learn your personal limitations and stay within them and you'll do fine.
Doug
Stinson driver

Post by Stinson driver »

Shoudnt be a problem- I did my PPL on a Tiger Moth and Starduster
My C170 is a pussycat when compared to those two- I still dont have nose wheel rating

Doug South Africa
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

You should be fine learning the ways of a tail-dragger. You mention your instructor has a tail wheel sign off. I hope he has much more than that. There is no hour requirement for the sign off so your instructor could have only the time it took him to show competency in one particular aircraft.

What your looking for is an instructor with a few hundred hours of tail wheel time and hopefully some recent experience in the tail wheel aircraft you buy.

I've got about 800 hours tail wheel time and have flown about eight different types of tail wheel aircraft. I can tell you about the only thing the eight have in common is a tail wheel.