landing

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

simatos

landing

Post by simatos »

After a long rebuild I am hoping to get flying my 170. Having flown 150s and 172s I am concerned about all the nasty stuff I hear about tail draggers. I have checked out on a Citabria but how do you guys with 170s set up for landing. I am sure there are as many opinions as pilots but I would appreciate any pointers you all might have
Gary CFGTY sn25121
CraigH

Post by CraigH »

I'm far from an expert in 170s since I've only had mine a couple of weeks (less than 15 landings). Before the 170 I flew a 7GCBC for about 150+ hours and find the 170 much easier to land gracefully in calm winds. Don't have any nasty crosswind experience in a 170 yet so I'll have to defer that to some of those with more experience in type.
Craig Helm
Graham, TX (KRPH)
2000 RV-4
ex-owner 1956 Cessna 170B N3477D, now CF-DLR
phantomphixer

landings

Post by phantomphixer »

For what it's worth, here's my $0.02 worth. I always 3 point mine. I've done wheelies but I prefer 3 pointers. I have no problems with up to 10-12 Knots across the runway but I start looking for a better wind alignment above that. May not be the bravest but I've got 500hrs in mine and only stupidity has caused my two "AWWW S**T" No damage except to my pride. Both were above 14 knots. Broke my own rule.

With the wind reasonably down the runway. I make all approaches (full flaps) at 70 and over the numbers at 60. . I quit looking at the airspeed ind at that time and fly it to touchdown. Then I fly it to the chocks/tiedown. Less flaps for X-wind.

Try http://www.taildraggers.com and click on their documentation link for a complete discussion.
Good luck and welcome to the greatest association on the internet.
Phantomphixer
55' 170B N3585C
Somerton, AZ
170C

Landing

Post by 170C »