Ingress Step Usage

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

MoonlightVFR

Ingress Step Usage

Post by MoonlightVFR »

I have been using the same step for 46 years without incident.

Look at IPC fig pg 34 item 15 p.n. 0711006-1.. seems mighty small doesn't it.

Installed 3M step tape friction tape 1x4 inches : to prevent foot from slipping off. Could the small step just break
off with 220 lbs flexing it?

Can you share tips, expediencies ?

My assist strap is original coupled with the small step; I am beginning to become concerned about the Ingress/egress
safety.
gradyb, '54 B N2890C
n2582d

Re: Ingress Step Usage

Post by n2582d »

Grady,
I like the way FA Dodge has designed these steps with a gusset at the angle. They also use heavier gauge steel for the step.
IMG_0546.JPG
Gary
170C

Post by 170C »

My boarding steps have undergone several repairs, some prior to my becoming the caretaker. The step portion has been welded, some good, some not so good. I had a welder add small gussets to strengthen the step portion similar to the above photo, (plus I paint the step area every so often with the black, wing walk paint with abrasive/grit which prevents ones foot from slipping). One of my very good friends, who weighed about 240# at the time, attempted to board one day. He may have been putting a lot of horizontal stress on the step (?) and it kinked. I removed it and had a mutual friend repair it and have not had any issues since. He filled a portion of the hollow "strut" with metal , welded it and made it look like new.