New forum member

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

jm89g

New forum member

Post by jm89g »

Hello dear C-170 enthusiasts !
I'm a french private pilot living in Senegal, former owner of a Broussard, then a Stampe, both sold when I moved from France to Africa.
I'm now looking for a nice 4 seaters taildragger to enjoy flying in Africa with wife and two boys, and C-170 seems to be a good choice (Or Stinson 108 but I'm not in the right place to talk about Stinsons :wink: )
I have targeted some 170s, -A and -Bs and it would be nice to gather owners opinions about the fabric wing vs metal wing before making this vital decision of purchasing a C-170.
Thanks to all for your warm welcome and now I will navigate through this forum.
Greetings from Dakar !
Jean-Michel
Bruce Fenstermacher

Re: New forum member

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

As you will find the '48 is the only year with a fabric wing. Otherwise the airframe is the same as a metal wing A. Generally the '48s have not been loaded with equipment over the years and you will find them to be lighter than a metal wing. Some feel the aileron authority of the '48 is not what the metal wing is. Most '48 pilots think the aileron authority is fine. Flaps on all three models are not the same. The B model having the biggest most effective flaps. '48 and A model pilots don't miss the big flaps because they use different just as effective techniques like a slip and good piloting rather than rely on larger flaps to make up for the lack there off. You should NEVER slip a B model with flaps, it can be deadly. And the good news it there really never is a reason to have to slip and deploy flaps.

Besides that there are those that would never have a fabric airplane and they don't like the '48 and there are those who don't like the spam can metal wings. To each his own.