Hello from Boston

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

rusbac

Hello from Boston

Post by rusbac »

Hi everyone,

Thought I'd stop by and introduce myself. I'm a fairly new private pilot flying out of Norwood, MA (OWD) and hoping to own a 170 in the very near future. I'm currently working on my tailwheel endorsement in a J3 Cub. Would love to connect with any owners in the area (MA, RI, CT and beyond) as I've yet to see a 170 up close and personal.

Enjoy!
Christine
Christine in Boston
N2481D - '52 170B
gfeher

Re: Hello from Boston

Post by gfeher »

Hi Christine,

I have a stock '52 170B that I fly out of Sterling, MA (3B3). Unfortunately, I may be a little hard to reach as I am in the process of moving to upstate NY in a couple of months. But feel free to try anyway and I'll make the effort to connect with you. You are making a good choice with the 170. It's a sweet plane. I bought mine about a year and a half ago and I've been thrilled with it. Also, you've made a good choice in connecting with this forum. If you are not a member already, you should join the association. It is money very well spent. There is a wealth if information available through the association.

Best of luck, Gene
Gene Feher
Argyle (1C3), NY
'52 170B N2315D s/n 20467 C-145-2
Experimental J3 Cub Copy N7GW O-200
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Hey Christine, good to see you here. As I predicted on Facebook, Gene stepped up with an offer if you can connect. My offer still stands should you make it to my area.

I see your getting you TW in a J-3. Good deal. You should know the J-3 is a bit easier than the 170 to handle as tail wheel aircraft go. The Cub being more responsive to just rudder input with the wheel on the ground than the 170 which requires differential breaking. All something I know you will be able to handle. As you can see from my signature, I also own a Cub.