Electronic Performance Calculator

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Greg Bockelman

Electronic Performance Calculator

Post by Greg Bockelman »

Anybody have an electronic calculator that does performance calculations? Plug in the variables and get takeoff and landing distances, rates of climb, that sort of thing? I am not a programmer but I would think something like that wouldn't be too hard to put together.

For what its worth, I have an electronic W&B calculator that is pretty good, but the other calculations aren't so "easy" to program.
GAHorn

Re: Electronic Performance Calculator

Post by GAHorn »

Have you tried the iTunes store? They have 172 performance for the Ipad.... probably very close to 170 perf.
'53 B-model N146YS SN:25713
50th Anniversary of Flight Model. Winner-Best Original 170B, 100th Anniversary of Flight Convention.
An originality nut (mostly) for the right reasons. ;)
blueldr

Post by blueldr »

Are you flying a corporate jet of some knd? I can't imagine anyone needing, or wanting, an electronic performance calculator for an airplane as simple as a
C-170. I would hazard a guess that after you had been flying one for a while, you would find that the need for such a device was gone.
BL
GAHorn

Post by GAHorn »

blueldr wrote:Are you flying a corporate jet of some knd? I can't imagine anyone needing, or wanting, an electronic performance calculator for an airplane as simple as a
C-170. I would hazard a guess that after you had been flying one for a while, you would find that the need for such a device was gone.
Agree completely! The AFM (and Owner's Manual) provide pretty accurate takeoff/field-performance/cruise data. READ THEM.
50th Anniversary of Flight Model. Winner-Best Original 170B, 100th Anniversary of Flight Convention.
Greg Bockelman

Post by Greg Bockelman »

gahorn wrote: