337's

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

C170U2

337's

Post by C170U2 »

Does the FAA ever mail you back a signed copy of the 337 after you send it in to them for signature? It seems like they should....otherwise how would I know it got signed and approved by the FAA?
hilltop170

Re: 337's

Post by hilltop170 »

Mike-
I'm no expert on this subject but I have discussed it with a neighbor of mine who is an FAA Operations Inspector in the Anchorage FSDO. His take on how the system works is if it is only a 337 that an IA has authority to approve, it is mailed in to OK City. A committee in OK City reviews the 337 and if there are no problems, it is submitted for recording. If there are issues (typos or omissions), it is sent back to the IA for corrections. The IA should make two identical copies which he authorizes. One is sent to OK City and the other goes into the aircraft records. If there are no problems with the 337, it is recorded and no copy is sent back to the IA. Only if there is a problem does it get sent back. This process may work differently in different FSDOs. They all should be the same but like the IRS, we know different offices have different opinions.

If the 337 requires a Block 3 sign off/approval by a local FAA FSDO Inspector which makes it a Field Approval, then two copies are approved with one going to OK City for recording and the other going into the aircraft records with nothing being returned from OK City.

From what I understand, anything sent to OK City has already been approved by some means. No approvals of 337s are done by OK City. Either an IA is authorized to approve the 337 as in the installation of an STC or a local FAA FSDO Inspector approves a Field Approval. In either case, they are sent to OK City for recording, not approval.

If anyone else has a different take on how this works, please advise, as this is the way I have seen it work for 40 years.