3rd Class Medical support

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

n3833v

3rd Class Medical support

Post by n3833v »

Here is a link for your support through EAA website.

http://govt.eaa.org/14781/support-gener ... ction-act/

John
John Hess
Past President 2018-2021
President 2016-2018, TIC170A
Vice President 2014-2016, TIC170A
Director 2005-2014, TIC170A
N3833V Flying for Fun
'67 XLH 900 Harley Sportster
EAA Chapter 390 Pres since 2006
K3KNT
Dennis

Re: 3rd Class Medical support

Post by Dennis »

Well.... that didn't take long
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Doesn't take long at all and actually is pretty slick.

I got a response from one of my representatives yesterday. I thought the wording was interesting.
  • Pat Toomey (R-PA) wrote:As a pilot, I understand your concerns about medical certification requirements for general aviation pilots. Specific to your inquiry, S. 2103 was introduced by Senator John Boozman (R-AR) on March 11, 2014. Among its provisions, this bill would prevent the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) from prohibiting pilots from operating certain aircraft based on medical reasons if the pilot meets certain conditions, such as maintaining a valid state driver's license.

I underlined the part I found interesting. I had to read it several times.

I've always thought of the regulations allowing one to exercise the privileges of their certificate if they meet certain health criteria. I never thought of them as saying you were prohibited unless you did. Of course either is correct. Is the glass half full or half empty?
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!

Bruce Fenstermacher, Past President, TIC170A
Email: brucefenster at gmail.com
DaveF

Post by DaveF »